

G/SG/N/10/ARE/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/11/ARE/2/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/10/BHR/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/10/KWT/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/10/KWT/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/10/OMN/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/11/OMN/2/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/10/QAT/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/11/QAT/2/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/10/SAU/1/Suppl.2 G/SG/N/11/SAU/2/Suppl.2

30 April 2018

Page: 1/2

(18-2667)

Committee on Safeguards

Original: English

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

COOPERATION COUNCIL FOR THE ARAB STATES OF THE GULF "GCC"

(Flat-rolled products of iron or non-alloy steel)

Supplement

The following communication, 27 April 2018, is being circulated at the request of the State of Kuwait as President of the GCC on behalf of the GCC member States.

1 DESCRIPTION OF THE PRODUCT INVOLVED

- a. Flat-rolled products of iron or non-alloy steel, of a width of 600 mm or more, clad, plated or coated. // -Painted, varnished or coated with plastics;
- b. Flat-rolled products of iron or non-alloy steel, of a width of 600 mm or more, clad, plated or coated. // -Other

These products are imported, respectively, to GCC member countries under HS Code: 721070 and 721090.

- 2 -

2 DESCRIPTION OF THE SAFEGUARD MEASURES IMPOSED

The GCC-Ministerial Committee has imposed safeguard duties for three years at the rate of additional specific duty which will be progressively liberalized according to the following table¹:

Duration	Specific duty value (USD / Ton)
From 15 May 2018 to 14 May 2019	169
From 15 May 2019 to 14 May 2020	153
From 15 May 2020 to 14 May 2021	137

3 DATE OF INTRODUCTION OF THE MEASURE

The definitive safeguard duties will enter into force from the date of 15 May 2018 as specified at 2 above.

4 DURATION OF THE MEASURE

The safeguard measure will remain in force for 3 years as specified at 2 above.

5 SPECIFY THE DEVELOPING COUNTRIES TO WHICH THE MEASURE IS NOT APPLIED UNDER ARTICLE 9.1 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS, AND THE IMPORT SHARES OF THESE COUNTRIES INDIVIDUALLY AND COLLECTIVELY

The following developing countries are excluded from the measure as they export less than 3% individually and less than 9% collectively to GCC countries:

Afghanistan; Albania; Angola; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Armenia; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belize; Benin; Bolivia, Plurinational State of; Botswana; Brazil ; Brunei Darussalam; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cabo Verde; Cambodia; Cameroon; Central African Republic; Chad; Chile; Colombia; Congo; Costa Rica; Côte d'Ivoire ; Croatia ; Cuba; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Fiji; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Ghana; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; Hungary; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Jamaica; Jordan; Kenya; Kyrgyz Republic; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Lesotho; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Mauritania; Mauritius; Macao, China; Mexico; Moldova, Republic of; Mongolia; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nepal; Nicaragua ; Niger ; Nigeria ; Pakistan; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Rwanda; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Samoa; Senegal; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Solomon Islands; South Africa; Sri Lanka; Suriname; Swaziland; Chinese Taipei; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Thailand; Turkey; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Uganda; Ukraine; Uruguay; Vanuatu; Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of; Viet Nam; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

¹ Official Gazettes are available on the official website <u>http://www.gcc-sg.org/ar-sa/GeneralSecretariat/SectorsSites/TSAD/Pages/Releases.aspx</u>.